Skip to content

It’s as if nothing ever happened.

August 27, 2013

Dad has gone back to work this week. That spins me out. It’s been just under 2 months since his surgery and his recovery has gone from strength to strength. The doctor has given him the all clear and his dietian has also given him the all clear. He saw her last week and she has basically told him that he can eat whatever he wants, the only conditions that stay for now are that he can’t drink alcohol and that he can’t drink any liquids with food. Other than that, he can go back to eating whatever foods he likes, which dad has done with great enthusiasm. The blessing in all of this is that dad’s stomach is now dictating how much he can eat, not dad, as he has always had a big appetite. He is still losing weight but he is looking so much healthier, and younger. If you didn’t know about the surgery, you would never guess that dad had suregry. He has more energy than before and is more positive than before (only just, but it’s still an improvement). 

For the rest of us, life is back to normal. I’m focusing on my studies and fitness more now as I don’t have to drive dad around anymore. He is driving again so he takes himself where he needs to go and most times he will drive mum around as well, which has freed me up. He isn’t back at work full time but a few days a week, which he is happy about as he is getting bored at home. I look back on the last few months and it’s just a blur…so much happened in such a small space of time. I’m humbled by God’s favor on our family and am blessed beyond belief with the people that God has put in my life. So many people rallied around us to help us through this and without my friends, I would have gone a little insane (more than I already am). One of the biggest things I took from this is that it’s ok, and sometimes neccessary, to ask for help. While I didn’t ask for too much help (that’s not in my nature however I’m trying to change that), whenever I needed someone or something, people stepped up. This whole experience also reinforced my belief that you need to surround yourself with people that will support you and people that will be positive. There is enough doomsayers in this world, when you are going through a difficult time, you don’t need people to remind you of how difficult it is. My faith is what carried me through and got me through the difficult hours, however having friends that rallied around me to remind me of how strong we all are, of how strong dad was and the fact that they would go through this with me was so uplifting. People that I don’t see regularly would message and email me to provide support from a distance and it touched my heart. To all those that called, visited, messaged me weekly, emailed, prayed and kept me and my family in their hearts – THANK YOU. God bless you abundantly and I pray that I can one day repay you back. 

This is the last blog about dad’s journey as he has gotten through the cancer and is now back to living his normal life. We are all back to living our normal lives and I’ve never been more thankful for it. Not sure what is next on the blog but I will be back at some point to share about another area of my life. Until next time…

God bless xxxx

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

