Skip to content

Almost smooth sailing..

July 31, 2013

It’s been a while since I’ve updated the blog and there are a few reasons for that. Firstly, things have been a little chaotic and as a result, my emotions and thoughts have been all over the place. I’ve been tired and run down and didn’t want to vent any of that through my blog as I may say things that are a little harsh. Secondly, I’ve actually been really, really busy. Dad still isn’t driving so I’m on standby as the taxi driver for mum and dad. I didn’t think I would be this busy being at home but we’ve gotten through the worst of it.

In terms of dad’s recovery, it’s going well. Dad has had to adjust to a few things, which is taking some time. For example, he can’t eat and drink at the same time; he needs to make sure there is a 30 min gap between eating and drinking. Considering he’s never had to worry about that before, it’s a tough habit to break and unfortunately, he hasn’t done too well with it. He also is eating a little more than he should. He ate too much the other day and ended up on the verge of tears most of the night due to how bad his pain was. We ended up giving him painkillers but they didn’t do much, despite the fact they were morphine laced. In a way I’m glad it happened, as experience is a better teacher than instructions, so hopefully the pain will be a reminder for him. He is also struggling with an ongoing infection to his feeding tube. He’s had the tube in since surgery and it’s gotten badly infected, so we are seeing his surgeon tomorrow and he will let us know what they need to do to fix it. Infections are pretty common to my understanding but they mentioned he may need to go back to hospital to get it sorted, so we’ll have to wait and see. Dad is freaking out a little about it but unfortunately there isn’t much he can do about it at the moment. 

One of the biggest challenges is that both mum and dad are going a little stir crazy. Dad is struggling to be at home so much as he’s always worked and mum is not used to having dad home so much, so she’s missing her space. Also, dad can’t drive, so it’s not like he can just up and go somewhere, he has to either go for a walk or ask me to take him. I don’t mind driving them around, but I know the frustration of not being able to get into your own car and leave when you want to. Hopefully in a few weeks he will be able to start driving but in the meantime, I’ve been driving them around and taking them out to lunch or coffee. I took them for breakfast yesterday and then to the movies, which was fun. I’m enjoying spending time with them however it’s getting very expensive as I’m paying for most of our outings, as well as paying for the groceries for home. But it won’t be for too long so things will settle soon.

As for me, I’m keen to focus on my studies now. I haven’t had much time to focus on study, which has been a little frustrating considering I left work so that I could be a full time student. I’ve been able to sit down for a couple of hours and read my notes this week, so hopefully now I can get in a few more hours each day to study and get back into the swing of things.

God bless xx

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment